“From the Halls of Montezuma, To the Shores of China Beach”

1-DSC_0545

“From the halls of Montezuma
To the shores of Tripoli;
We fight our country’s battles
In the air, on land and sea;
First to fight for right and freedom
And to keep our honor clean;
We are proud to claim the title
Of United States Marine.”

John Ligato walked Point for the 1st Fire Squad of the 1st Platoon of Alpha Company of the 1st Marine Battalion of the 1st Marine Regiment of the 1st Marine Division fighting in the I Corps of Vietnam, making him either one of the most brilliant and ferocious warriors in the history of the war, or lucky beyond all reason. Being a Marine, it is probably a lot of both. The “few and the proud” are trained survivors, and you can guarantee that when the Marines show up, the job will get done.

John enlisted in the USMC in 1966 and after learning Vietnamese for interrogation purposes, he was sent to Con Thien where for thirty days he endured the North Vietnamese Army (NVA) attacking in human waves. It was here that John earned his first Purple Heart. John left the mud hole that was Con Thien and arrived, with what remained of Alpha Company, in Phu Bai and had his first hot meal and shower in months. Then, around midnight, enemy rockets fell on the camp. Being “Jarheads,” John and his buddies joked around and played games like “Run-Between-the-Rockets.” This was no big deal compared to Con Thien.

During the Tet Offensive of 30 January 1968, John and the other 150 Marines of Alpha Company were called up to Hue to help a Military Assistance and Command Vietnam (MACV) compound. 150 Marines … against as it turned out, an NVA Division … 10,000 strong. Timely and much needed reinforcements led to some of the most fierce fighting of the war, the battle for Hue City, which lasted over a month. But US forces eventually regained control of the ancient capital of Vietnam, and John earned two additional Purple Hearts.

37-DSC_0542

“Our flags unfurled to every breeze
From dawn to setting sun;
We have fought in ev’ry clime and place
Where we could take a gun;
In the snow of far off northern lands
And in sunny tropic scenes;
You will find us always on the job —
The United States Marines”

For the first half of our trip, John was quiet and reserved. However, a few days ago we arrived in Hue and, as we were driving, he spotted a bridge on the Perfume River, a bridge that looked eerily similar to one he helped to destroy in 1968. It inspired him to get up in front of everyone and talk about how 150 Marines crossed that bridge, and within about an hour, 50 were dead or wounded. John said the river, and the bridge on it, focused the war for him. It was the first thing he recognized, and the first thing to make him truly aware that he was back in Vietnam.

Our journey is almost at an end, but it has been one of the most important experiences of my life. My grandfather served in Vietnam, and was a Marine. He came home physically, but not mentally, and died when I was very young. I never had the chance to talk to him about his experiences, but I am honoring my grandfather by wearing his cap or “cover” as the Marines call it. And I am honored beyond words to have a United States Marine as my veteran. John often says to me, “I have trouble thinking of Vietnam as history.” To him, he was simply going there to do a job, and to fulfill his duty as an American citizen. On this trip, I have wondered what constitutes a hero. To me, a hero is someone who sacrifices everything for someone or something outside of themselves. And to me, at least, that defines my veteran, Mr. John Ligato.

“Here’s health to you and to our Corps
Which we are proud to serve;
In many a strife we’ve fought for life
And never lost our nerve;
If the Army and the Navy
Ever look on Heaven’s scenes;
They will find the streets are guarded
By United States’ Marines.”

Devan Spady

47-DSC_0677

4 thoughts on ““From the Halls of Montezuma, To the Shores of China Beach”

  1. The siege at Con Thien followed by the Tet offensive in Hue…a double whammy for sure and my hat is off to him. (BTW extremely well written tribute).

    Like

  2. My baby girl. When you spoke of the bridge, I gained you holding the hand of your Marine. Then I remembered what it felt like to hold you hand to and hold my Dad’s hand. To be sure, you held your Grandad’s hand today as you wee in that place that he was. I love you so much and I so proud of you, as I am proud of your Marine. Semper Fi, my love. You make me proud with every breath.

    Like

Leave a comment